Standalone Sunday is a meme created by Megan at BookslayerReads. Where each Sunday you feature a book that is a standalone (not a part of a series) that you really like and would recommend to others. (Visit the BookSlayerReads page for more info).

REASON BEHIND MY PICK:

There are a few reasons I chose House on the Hill by Gwen Selix for this week’s Stand Alone Sunday pick.  I myself am an up and coming Indi Author My Author Page , so naturally, I make it a priority to read a few other new Indi’s every month.  I feel that finding fantastic Indi books is like pulling a pearl from the depths of the ocean. House on the Hill is a YA Horror.  This author definitely has a way with words and she has so much potential for her future writing projects.  I look forward to following her throughout her career.

Also, House on the Hill just so happens to be on sale this weekend in light of her NEW RELEASE!!!   That’s right, Gwen Selix came out with a brand spanking new romance novel this very weekend!  I haven’t had a chance to read it yet but will be diving in very soon.  I’ll link it right on into this post along with House on the Hill!!

MY REVIEW 4 out of 5 stars:

Absolutely Captivating!! I was completely mesmerized by House On the Hill. This surprisingly unique and twisty version of a prequel to a famous haunted tale didn’t disappoint. Rebecca finds herself in the presence of others that are more like her than she could have ever imagined. Gwen Selix finds a way to explore each of her characters disturbing pasts, drawing them all together into a house that offers wondrous out of this world protection. Aside from the need of a tighter edit and possibly a little more focus on the epilogue rather than meals and growly bear bellies – I am completely sold on this amazing story. The magic is perfected and authentic. The love story laced in is to die for. The nasty monstrous villain has a gigantic secret, I was completely shocked. This is a story that I could never have guessed what was coming, which is very rare. The heart wrenching beginning sucked me right in and the ending was on point. I will most definitely recommend House On The Hill to my friends and family! I can’t wait to read Gwen’s next adventure!

BOOK DESCRIPTION:

*Trigger warnings* Though young adult this book is recommended for 16+ This book deals with suicide attempts and tough home lives.

To the outside world, Rebecca seems like any other teenager; she has a simple home life, two parents, average grades in school, and doesn’t have many friends. Rebecca learned at a young age how to hide everything with a smile; smile and no one asks questions. But her home isn’t as the world sees it… at home; she lives in her own personal Hell. Every day she has to face the Monster, as she calls him, he rules her house, taking the abuse every day until one night she make a mistake that will keep her from returning home. She finds the house, the boy, and the possibility of a better future. Will she take the chance at a better life? Or will she return to the Monster?

House on the Hill, Gwen Selix

GWEN’S NEW RELEASE: THE ONE

51jkb05k9ol__ac_us160_

Faith has one rule.
“Don’t date anyone my sister Veronica has.”
But rules are hard to follow when it comes to the one man she’s loved her entire life.
Austen.

The One, Gwen Selix

