MY REVIEW:

This is only the second Colleen Hoover book I’ve read and although I absolutely loved it, I don’t think I loved it quite as much as I did the last (It ends with us). The plot line is unique, and I’ll even admit to crying a time or two… or five to be exact haha. Colleen has a real talent of reaching into tear ducts l and just ripping out every single drop that your soul can possibly offer. As always her delivery is nearly flawless. Nearly… I couldn’t help but get the feeling that something was missing, there was so many questions I had throughout the entire book. It wasn’t until I was laying in bed at night, wide awake, feeling a little bit empty because I had finished the book and still couldn’t put my finger on what was missing from it. Ultimately I decided that even though it IS a love story, and then entire book revolves around a couple that only see each other one day a year for 5 years…. I feel like it still needs more of the between time. That’s what its missing. If there would have been a tiny bit more of the years between explained then it would have completed the story (for me anyway) I’m sure that there are thousands of people who absolutely love the way she told the entire story based on Nov 9 before and after they met, but I’m not one of them. I would have loved to find out more about NY and more about Fallon’s mom throughout the year. It’s hard to explain the plot line with out giving away any spoilers, but it goes something like this:

Fallon is involved in a very tragic house fire that leaves a very large portion of her body and face covered in scars. The story starts out on the 2 year anniversary of the house fire. Her body is healed, but her insecurities are at an all time high. She meets up with her father, who is a completely insensitive self absorbed jerk. He clearly loves his daughter, but it’s a very in your face tough love. He doesn’t tip toe around her scars, or around what her future in acting will lack, due to those scars. He is TOO tough on her which causes a nearby eavesdropper to intervene.

This eavesdropper is Ben Kessler. After coming to Fallon’s rescue and putting her father in his much needed place, the connection they have is almost incomprehensible! Colleen Hoover is a MASTER at explaining emotion and she is able to paint the energy between Ben an Fallon with absolute perfection.

Ben and Fallon make a pact to live their lives separate, and meet up every year on the same date… Nov. 9… Each year is a new experience, they love, they grieve, they misconceive, they confuse each other, and obsess over each other. Each twist thrown into their odd relationship is classic! Especially the main twist at the end, there is absolutely no comparison!

I did LOVE the story, but I would liked to have seen a little more, and I feel like the ending is somewhat lacking as well. I’d love to see an epilogue… Or sequel, that would be even better!

 

 

DESCRIPTION:

Beloved #1 New York Times bestselling author Colleen Hoover returns with an unforgettable love story between a writer and his unexpected muse.

Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relationships and tribulations of their own separate lives, they continue to meet on the same date every year. Until one day Fallon becomes unsure if Ben has been telling her the truth or fabricating a perfect reality for the sake of the ultimate plot twist.

Can Ben’s relationship with Fallon—and simultaneously his novel—be considered a love story if it ends in heartbreak?

