Finally, the longest Garth Brooks song in the history of country music comes to an end and I look up to see him. That’s right, HIM.  The twangiest voice of the bunch was sung by none other than the man of my dreams.  All beard and no embarrassment. They’re slapping each others backs after their proud display of Low Places.

“Look at him.” I tell Lynn.

“Which one?”  Her head snaps up like a lioness on the prowl.

“Far left, Yankee’s hat.”

She tilts her head in thought, “Yeah, he’s alright I guess.”

“Alright?”  I can’t believe her. “Just alright? He’s a ten!”

“Dana, I don’t think anyone in this bar tonight is a ten.” Then she returns her attention to her phone and spits out some statement that I only hear half of. “Just don’t leave me at this…..”

I’m out of my seat before she has the chance to finish. She may have said ‘table’ and ended it there, or maybe she said ‘table without getting me a drink’… Who knows. I’m distracted and far too busy honing in on my prize. His small group splits, some make their way to the pool tables, some to a bar stool.  I linger in close behind until he takes a seat, then I cram myself between him and some other burly looking guy who took the stool next to his. There’s no stool for me to sit on, so I’m forced to stand shoulder to shoulder between them. I bury myself with the scent of his cologne and then allow my entire left side to feel the heat of his body.

Without any words, I tell him hello with only a smile and undress me eyes. A fraction of me is shy, which is weird and completely out of the ordinary. Another part of me is overwhelmed by excitement and the embarrassing question as to whether or not he’ll be able to tell that I just barfed my guts out. I lean over the bar to draw the attention of the woman behind it, and of course to give this enticing man a good look at my rear end. I ordered us each one shot and one beer. The rest of the night is history.

This has been a short excerpt out of Love or Low Places? Super Short Prelude to Love, by yours truly.  It’s the first in a series of short stories. I invite you to read more!  Reviews are welcome!

 

CONNECT WITH ME! AMAZON AUTHORS PAGE //  GOODREADS //  TWITTER
LIKE AND FOLLOW MY FACEBOOK PAGE HERE
PLEASE ALSO ENJOY MY LATEST E-BOOK NOVEL. IT’S A SWEATY THRILLER AGGRAVATED MOMENTUM 
(Which is marked down from $3.99 to $.99 for the next three days!  SO CLAIM YOUR COPY NOW!)
