Is there really only one week left in March?  Time sure does fly when you’re keeping that restless mind busy with tedious details, and channeling creative juices!  Seven years ago when we started the 2000 era, I never would’ve imagined myself to have the focus and drive that I do now. To be honest, I never pictured myself much farther than five steps from a bar stool… But here I am, five YEARS past a bar stool, and gearing up to publish my fourth novel!!

images

 (That’s aside from the short story collection, they’re just fun!)

Being a writer has been such a blessing for me in many ways, for those who have followed my stuff, you know what I’m talking about. For those who haven’t here’s a link to my post explaining a little bit about my medical history, and my struggle to have children Transforming Personal Trauma and Devastation into Drive and a Sheer Will to Succeed. Writing helped me through a very personal hardship, and I will forever be grateful for that!  Now back, to the reason for this post… Accomplishments for the last (nearly) three months:

download (2)

I’m proud to say that Search For Maylee is well underway!  This 85k word mystery/thriller is about 75% finish with the fourth and final round of revisions! Also, the first half has been submitted to my editor, as to which she emailed me the second chapter with completed edits ready to rock and roll this morning!  OMFG I’m so excited!  This actually puts me a couple weeks ahead of schedule (Based on the personally set, and weekly outlined progress goals, that I put in place back in November.)  If everything continues to flow as smoothly as it has so far, then I will be right on track with the Fall Release as planned!

download (1)

To make things even more exciting my editor threw in some really exciting and encouraging notes!! She said, “I think this is a great start!  I think your dialogue has improved a lot, and this story is going to draw people in immediately. Good work!” … This may not sound like much, but if you knew my editor you’d now that she is very reserved and very picky. There isn’t much room for excitement. Needless to say, when I opened up my inbox this morning, my jaw dropped to the floor, and then I did this:

images (1)

Here is a super quick little teaser for Search For Maylee, just so you can all see what I’m SO EXCITED about!

“Miss Brown,” he managed to cough out, “come on in.”

The words were stammered, he was unable to take his eyes off of her. Chance couldn’t help but to notice the manner in which Autumn carried herself. She seemed much different than the frumpy, chubby, yet still attractive woman he had grown to know and admire years earlier. Autumn was now lean, tan, and in very good shape. She wore little make up, but didn’t really need it as her skin was smooth and bold green eyes were framed with thick, long, naturally black lashes. There was no question to her beauty, nor to his attraction to her.  

Autumn swallowed her nerves and lifted her head in a forced confidence, willing him not to notice the slight shaking of her fingers. The pulsing liveliness in Chance’s chest skyrocketed as he held the door open, allowing her to pass. Instantly drawn to her, he tapped a thumb on the door’s handle, his growing tension a wreck. A comparison engaged through his mind, batting back and forth between the puffy eyed matted hair woman he remembered, to the clearly healthy woman she’d become. Seemed to him, she were two completely opposite people.  

The old Autumn vs. the new, Chance couldn’t get a grasp on the change, he was entirely engulfed by shock and disbelief. A hard lump formed in his throat causing him to choke on his spit. A balled fist was raised to his lips in aid of coughing it out.

“Excuse me.”  He mumbled before taking a seat across from his unexpected guest.

Caught off guard by a waft of his cologne, Autumn instantly remembered the scent. He smelled the exact same as he had years before, memory of it flooded up her nostrils, sparking a strange flutter in her stomach. Maybe that is why he had made her so uncomfortable, she thought. That has to be it — it’s because she loved the way he smelled, nothing more. She chuckled in her head at the silliness of the thought, reminding herself that she hardly even knew him. That’s not to mention the fact that he angered her on a regular basis not so long ago.  

Autumn avoided his penetrating eyes, glancing around the room uncomfortably. After a few quick moments of confusion and an embarrassing newfound dumbness, she strained to recall the speech she had practiced. There was a reason she was here, and nothing was going to get in her way. Not the sharpness of Chance’s eyes, or even his divine scent could stop her. The entire conversation had played out in her imagination over and over the night before. Everything she wanted to say was prepared and memorized. There was no turning back now. She exhaled a hesitant breath of relief as he spoke first.

“Miss Brown, I must say you’re looking well. Is there anything I can help you with?”

“I…I…I’m moving.”  Autumn stammered, a little confused and beside herself at his compliment.  

Everything she had planned to say evaporated out of her mind, like the rolling steam off boiling water. She now sat ashamed and growingly ridged in front of this unnerving man. A stiff torso allowed her to lean back into the chair and dig around her pocket for the crumpled up paper. If she couldn’t find the words to tell him, then she would have to show him instead. The rumpled pink page, still slightly moist, was set hesitantly on the desk between them.

“I’m moving to Denver to find Craig. I’m going to look for Maylee myself.”

The shaking of Autumn’s hands multiplied by ten while she spoke the words. There was so much more she had intended to say, but for some uncomfortable reason her tongue wouldn’t cooperate and her chest failed to rise and fall with proper breath. These factors rendered her utterly incapable of the full speech she had intended.

Tears welled in her eyes, stopping at the inside corners – teetering the edge of a full on meltdown. How embarrassing. It was easy to tuck away her anxiety and fears around her friends and family, but not so much Chance.  All of her worries and doubts were somehow brought to the surface, just from the presence of him. Though so confident about the whole thing that morning, Autumn was starting to question herself at the mere sight of Chance. She couldn’t decide if his facial expression read angry, worried, anxious, or what?  His mind was tangled, clearly he was confused at her. The awkward demonstration of care in his face gave her a chill.

CONNECT WITH ME! AMAZON AUTHORS PAGE //  GOODREADS //  TWITTER
LIKE AND FOLLOW MY FACEBOOK PAGE HERE
PLEASE ALSO ENJOY MY LATEST E-BOOK NOVEL. IT’S A SWEATY THRILLER AGGRAVATED MOMENTUM 
CLICK HERE TO JOIN DIDI’S BI-MONTHLY NEWSLETTER!
