We’re all guilty of playing out scenes of our projects whether we realize it or not. Some of us are just a little bit more obvious about it than others.  Even if it’s fiction that we’re working on, some of the small things we write about eventually turn out to be factual in the long run… Or at least we try to make them — in one way or another. Here are some of examples:

  • We attempt to cook meals that we write about. Tonight I made breakfast for dinner because I had just written a ‘next morning breakfast scene’. It really didn’t even go into an elaborate explanation of the meal either. It merely said eggs and bacon, then I couldn’t help myself.  It sounded absolutely perfect, so as soon as I finished up my session, I marched my little hinnie straight to the kitchen and cooked my family and myself breakfast food.
  • If we write about an immaculate home or building, we automatically start to scrub and promising ourselves that we’ll never let our houses get so disgusting ever again. One might think that the cleanliness of our houses would be neglected due to lack of time. But, for the majority of us, it’s just the opposite. We really want our houses to be just as nice as the ones we write about so we clean and re-arrange, and sometimes even buy new furniture because once we have the perfect picture in mind it becomes an obsession.
  • We make our significant others take us on dates that are as close as we can get them to the outings in our books. My husband in particular isn’t usually as compliant as I’d like him to be.  Last time I bought him an outfit that was identical to the one I pictured my character wearing AND I dropped little hints of dialogue hoping he would say the same juicy things to me. (by hints I mean I wrote quotes on sticky paper and places them conveniently on the fridge and his alarm clock.)… It didn’t work.  He only wore the pants, saying that the shirt was ugly, and he never even once quoted my dialogue! … As you can imagine, he’s not the role-play type.
  • We star gaze and/or watch a sunset/sunrise as soon as we possibly can after writing about it. Being in that frame of mind we only hope that watching such beautiful things for real, that we’ll somehow magically be transported to the motions our characters had.
  • If we’re writing about a great family life, we spend more time with our kids.  Sometimes even the opposite. If we’re writing about a terribly horrible family life, then we cry about how awful our characters are, and of course we spend more time with our kids. Either way, we strive to be better family members.
  • If we write about coffee or even alcohol, we crave coffee and alcohol. The last time I wrote a bar scene, I called every single one of my girlfriends and had a great big ol’ giant hoorah bar night shortly after.
  • We try and find outfits that match our characters. This one is quite obvious. I mean really, why would we write about an outfit if we didn’t secretly want it for ourselves right?
  • And last but not least, if we write about water we either take the family to the local swimming pool or else we take ourselves a long luxurious bubble bath.  It doesn’t really matter what kind of water scene we write either. It could be sailing, scuba-diving, or simply watering the lawn… No mater what kind of water scene we write, the results are the same. We inevitably crave some sort of water contact.

 

There you have it nerds…  Now go write something really awesome so that you’ll want to make yourself play it out! And please share your own stories, I’d love to hear what silly adventures you’ve went on after writing about it first! 

yeah_right-53108

CONNECT WITH ME! AMAZON AUTHORS PAGE //  GOODREADS //  TWITTER
LIKE AND FOLLOW MY FACEBOOK PAGE HERE
PLEASE ALSO ENJOY MY LATEST E-BOOK NOVEL. IT’S A SWEATY THRILLER AGGRAVATED MOMENTUM 
CLICK HERE TO JOIN DIDI’S BI-MONTHLY NEWSLETTER!
