MY REVIEW:

The poems in The Blue Book are so overwhelmingly depressing that it makes the whole thing just feel completely REAL. It’s centered around women who have been wronged in relationships, and are raising children in dicey situations. I had a hard time relating to many of the poems personally as I have been blessed in my life to be lucky in love. In my opinion, this actually had an equally as powerful effect on me as it would have had I ever under gone abuse(physically, mentally, and/or emotionally). Here is how:

The poems in the book pointed out the realities of some women’s lives. It was a reminder that not everyone has it as good as myself, some have to go about their days in a very dark and ugly place. For me, The Blue Book was a big fat slap in the face in regards to how cruel life (and people) can actually be. It also reminded me it’s time for me to stop being a whiny little baby and start appreciating what I have.

On many levels I don’t feel like this book is for everyone. I don’t think some could handle such harsh reality. If you don’t have an open heart and open mind then you can’t understand and appreciate the message.. That being said, I feel like there are so many women out there that actually NEED this book of poetry. Women like myself need a reminder of what we do actually have and blessed we are. Women who can relate on a more personal level with some of the poems in this book need to allow themselves to feel the emotions in order to heal and move on from difficult situations in life… This poetry is very bitter sweet.

In my opinion, the best poetry isn’t supposed to be all flowers and love, it’s supposed to draw out reality and strong emotion. The Blue Book did exactly that. It’s flawed to perfection, and just harsh enough in reality to leave a lasting impression.

Kudos W. D. Jefferson. I will definitely be reading more of your work!

 

DESCRIPTION:

If your looking for a loving, hopeful compilation of poetry, this is not it. This book is simply about the feelings and emotions inside of you, that are anything but pink, warm or fuzzy….they are bad decisions…they are regrets….they are dark…they are betrayed….they are angry..they are confused..they are my sins and transgressions…..passionate..explicit….street talking…in love still….sometimes sexual..life ending….and they are blue.

You will also get some unexpected gifts within this book….a song playlist….art..poetic art….and a non-traditional setup…Experience my only wish…to love….and then….feel my pain!

Wanda Jefferson has quiet the collection of books!  She is also an amazing blogger. If you don’t already follow her, then you should!  You can find it HERE (being a follower of her blog in no way effected my review.)

CONNECT WITH ME! AMAZON AUTHORS PAGE //  GOODREADS //  TWITTER
LIKE AND FOLLOW MY FACEBOOK PAGE HERE
PLEASE ALSO ENJOY MY LATEST E-BOOK NOVEL. IT’S A SWEATY THRILLER AGGRAVATED MOMENTUM 
CLICK HERE TO JOIN DIDI’S BI-MONTHLY NEWSLETTER!
