Katie Phillips Creative Services

I was a 19-year-old kid who didn’t know much of anything when I went to my first writing conference. In fact, I was mainly going because I’d enjoyed writing stories with friends in high school, and I wanted an excuse to hang out with my best friend. 🙂

It was one of the most terrifying experiences of my life to that point.

Here I was, this little clueless farm girl from Kansas, sitting at the dinner table discussing bread rolls with Frank Peretti and trying to decide which fork to use first. Everyone was at least 10 years older than me and definitely seemed to have their act together. I didn’t even have a business card!

CWG Conference 2008 My best friend, A.C. Williams, and I on our way to my first writing conference!

To make matters worse, at writing conferences the standard “get to know you” question is, “What do you write?”…

View original post 654 more words

