I’m an American, and yesterday I celebrated my independent nation with family and friends. I attended a parade, a local fair with rides and games, I BBQ’d, and when the sun sunk down into the horizon I watched a stunning firework show. I enjoyed what is most important to me in my life, and I avoided television and social media completely.

I love this nation, I love the closeness I have with my family, and I’m grateful for the men and women who lived before me, and made it possible for my family and I to live with the rights and freedom that we have.

Today, as I attempted a return to life as normal, I have to say I’m heartbroken. What saddens me is the increasing controversy that comes with this beautiful July holiday. It seems like every year the apposing differences in political views taints the 4th of July, and one of the very freedoms we cherish so (the freedom of speech) is taken advantage of in a sickening way.

Not everyone needs to see eye to eye, as is the beauty of our freedom and rights to individuality. I hate politics. Of course I have my own opinions and views. I show up to cast my mark on a ballad just like every one else.  But, I would never in a million years force my views on another by attacking a party I don’t believe in. I can’t stand that kind of ignorance. Sure, express your beliefs, but PLEASE be respectful of others in the process!

It seems like even today, the day AFTER our nations celebration to independence, people are STILL shoving their opinions down each others throats.  The bitterness and bickering among each other as Americans is heart wrenching!

Isn’t it supposed to be: “Together we stand”?

Personally, (during this particular holiday ESPECIALLY), I don’t care whether you are a Democrat or a Republican. I don’t care about the color of your skin, or what side of the country you reside in. I don’t care about your day job, or whether you career is in conflict with someone else. As Americans we have ONE DAY A YEAR to reflect in pride and reverence as ONE.

Is it really so much to ask that we take advantage of a straight forward actual excuse to get along with each other??

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to log back out of social media (I’m sorry but yes that does include wordpress) as to continue my avoidance of political conflict in light of my nations holiday.  Tomorrow I will return, weed through the continuance of negative opinions, and read everything I can that is positive and worth while as it comes to growth and deserved pride.

 

