As some of you already know, I’m between writing projects.  I’ve finished up my latest novel Search For Maylee that will released on Oct. 6th. Every time I finish up a novel I take a month or two “off” before starting on my next super big project. It never works out, and I end up signing myself up for way more other smaller projects than I can keep up with. This time is no different. If anything I’m even busier than usual lol.

Last year when I was between, I actually did take a writing break. It only lasted a month, and I ended up re-organizing every single inch of my house, painting everything I could without causing a divorce in the process, and I binge watched every single season of Sons of Anarchy, Breaking Bad, AND The Walking Dead. By the time my month off was over, I was in a really weird place mentally I’ll tell you what!!

This year, as I’m taking my ‘novel break’, I’ve actually been writing more than I was before I finished my dang book. I love it though!!  I feel like I’m finally exactly where I should be in life, and it’s phenomenal!  Between re-typing by Grandma’s novel, the short story collection I’m doing with Kim, the blog, and freelancing for The Conscious Talk Magazine I haven’t given my fingers (or brain) a break. Busy busy busy, run run run, I’ve really learned how to hustle!

One of the greatest parts of all this writing madness is finding other writers like myself!! One fellow writer that has crossed my path this month is Denise Billups. She’s an amazing writer, unique and excellent blogger, and is also a fellow columnist with me at the Magazine!  I was reading over a few of her articles today and because I’ve been in such an inevitably weird place mentally due to the ‘between zone’, one of them really shouted at me!!

I realized, that rather than throwing myself into another season of some Netflix psycho craze like I did last year, I should focus on something seasonal and productive in a positive way! Of course, because I really suck in the kitchen (I’ve actually lit more than one cooking space on fire in my day)  I couldn’t tell you what fall veggie is what… What squash is what… OR how the hell to cook any of them lol

Denise wrote an article about fall foods that I got lost in, and for the next week I’ll be burring myself in the kitchen. I’ll explore the vegies she described and I’ll make it a point to master her recipe for Curried Squash-Apple Soup!!  Because wow, if I’m going to try my hand at being a seasonal kitchen bird this year, then this is CLEARLY the place to start!!!

Curried squash-apple soup?!?!?!  My mouth is literally watering just thinking about this!  Maybe after I master this recipe I’ll explore some home made pumpkin spice stuff…. MAYBE lol. Wish me luck. Hopefully no house fires develop in the process!

Excited_peeta_gif

 

 

