Review: The Secret Mother, by Shalini Boland 5 stars

My Review:

5 of 5 stars

The Secret Mother is the first of Shalini Boland’s books I’ve read, and I’m extremely pleased!  It’s the kind of book with the kind of characters that I just want to dissect every little part of. I’m one hundred percent satisfied with the character development, it’s perfect. Tessa’s character is brilliantly written. She’s layered perfectly. The plot of the entire book unravels itself at a very clever pace. Each imperative detail is strategically placed in the perfect spots. The writing style is admirably straight forward, the picture is drawn beautifully, the plot is unfolded very neatly before your eyes as a reader. It’s impeccable, I love that!

The book starts out with the main character Tessa coming home to a child in her home. He seems completely at ease there, is drawing a picture of her, and when she walks in he asks her if she’s his Mummy. What a powerful start, right? From here everything spirals. Tessa is forced through a long journey of sorting out her past as well as trying to make sense of the boy.

One odd thing about this boy is that his entire origin seems off. Something about him is a very intriguing mystery.

A few things that I really like about the book is that Tessa isn’t so sure about her sanity. She seems to recollect her past as well as detailed events as they play out, but then she questions herself. This quality about Tessa keeps you kind of guessing, and it really adds to her persona. I also really like the way her co-workers, neighbor, boss, and ex-husband’s characters are so in depth. Everyone who is woven in and out of Tessa’s life is perfectly developed. Even the way the news reporters, the hateful assumptive public, and all the media in general are portrayed in a way that really fits.

As Tessa’s psyche unravels, it becomes very clear that the pockets in her emotional baggage are extremely deep. Her maternal instincts are impeccable. This book has undeniably won itself a spot amongst my favorite psychological family dramas. I absolutely loved it! This is a must read!

Thank you NetGalley and the Publisher for a free copy of this book for my honest review.

DESCRIPTION:

Tessa Markham comes home to find a child in her kitchen. He thinks she’s his mother. But Tessa doesn’t have any children.

Not anymore.

She doesn’t know who the little boy is or how he got there.

After contacting the police, Tessa comes under suspicion for snatching the child. She must fight to prove her innocence. But how can she convince everyone she’s not guilty when even those closest to her are questioning the truth? And when Tessa doesn’t even trust herself…

A chilling, unputdownable thriller with a dark twist that will take your breath away and make you wonder if you can ever trust anyone again. Perfect for fans of Gone Girl, The Girl on the Train and The Sister.

Advertisements

20 Comments Add yours

  1. Nice review Didi! I like unreliable narrators so this sounds like my cup of tea!🤗

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Kim, you would LOVE this one!

      Like

  2. Carrie says:

    Nice review! I’ve had my eye on this one and keep thinking about picking it up now I just maybe have to. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, do it!! This book is amazing, Carrie!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. raistlin0903 says:

    Hmm…you had me had perfect for fans of gone girl. This sounds pretty good. As always, nice review! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! It is an amazing book! 🤗

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Sounds great – I’ve pre-ordered it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Perfect! I can’t wait to read your review as well! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. How nicely you reviewed the book. As you told start is really very nice. It creates an eager to read more about book. Thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I definitely hope you give it a read. This really is an excellent book! 🙂

      Like

  6. Shannon says:

    I’ve read one by this author that was good – adding this one to my list now! Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. absolutely 🙂 I’ll definitely be reading more of her stuff too. This book was amazing!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Fantastic Review Didi! I’m glad you enjoyef it, I thought you would😉❤📚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes! I knew when I read your review itd be a good pick. They approved it like that next day 😆 I loved it!

      Like

      1. I wasn’t expecting that ending!!!🤤🤤🤤

        Liked by 1 person

      2. right?!?! OMG… Its so hard to write a review for a book like this without giving away spoilers too lol

        Like

    1. Thank you! I really loved this book!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s