#DoubleBookReview #5stars #DarkRomanticFantasy The Wicked Souls Duology, by Candace Robinson @LiteraryDust

MY REVIEW (S):

Book 1:

Let me just start by saying that this book has my favorite ending of any book in this genre that I’ve read. You always expect the heroics, the twisty and compelling yet conquering satisfaction. This ending was more fitting for the entire storyline than the expected could ever be. It just fit, and it’s powerful and shocking and leaves you with this particular taste of ‘oh my Gawwwwd’ in your mouth.
Seriously, I have quite the list of reviews that I’m absolutely behind on, and I’m totally going to bump them all out (even more lol) so that I can read book 2 of the Glass Vault duology – like right freaking now. THAT is how good the ending was!
Now, lets get to the actual review: Perrie Madiline is a high school girl with a boyfriend who recently betrayed her and broke her heart into a thousand pieces. She has the coolest cousin/bestie ever. I absolutely love Maisie, she’s fun and quirky and unique and by far my favorite character in the entire book. Especially when she’s sucked into the altered, twisted and dark realm of Snow White. She’s phenomenal. Perrie also has a runner up best friend, August. He’s there for her when she needs it most, always staying by her side, protecting her, and pulling at her heart strings. To the point where her emotions are getting a bit on the confusing side and she isn’t sure if she should still be feeling the emotional confusion for her ex – or if she should follow this pull toward August.
There have been several disappearances in the area, so when an ancient looking building appears out of no where, it’s even more hair raising than it normally would have been.
Perrie and her two closest comraderies are clearly curious. One thing leads to another and they all find themselves sucked into the dark underworld that is everything Quincey and his Glass Vault. Perrie and August willingly enter the building as their looking for their lost friends. There are lots of halls and no exits. They come upon glass displays that are twisted renditions of famous tellings like Sleepy Hollow, Jack the Ripper, Trolls on the bridge and even some princess fairy tells gone horribly wrong. The displays are very detailed and disturbing, and little do they know they’re about to be sucked right into the realms of these tellings. Kind of like satins little playground for bouncing to individualized worst nightmares. If Elm Street would have been on the docket I may have never recovered.
Perrie and August find ways through the barriers in these horrible places as they search for their missing friends, and while trying her best to stay alive her feelings for him increase. From cover to cover it’s the perfect blend of creepy, shock, romance and memorable twists. 5 stars and I can’t wait to report on book 2!!

Book 2:

WHOOOOOAAAAAHHHHH!!! It’s hard to find duologies where the second book is as good or even better than the first, but somehow Robinson has managed to do so! In the first Wicked Souls book, Quincey Wolf’s Glass Vault, Perrie took on the daunting task of searching layer after layer of classical nightmares come to life in a wonderfully dark written underworld. She found Maisie, her cousin in a gory twisted version of Snow White, and her Ex Boyfriend as Frankenstein’s monster — blood, scars and all! You see, if you die in a dimension then you stay there and relive the horror over and over and over, in a true style of personalized hell.
Unfortunately, Perrie fell into the clutches of Vale. Vale is the demon child of Satan himself, and has been determined to turn Perrie into his wicked bride since the first day he’d laid eyes on her. Vale tricked Perrie in book one, and now book two comes along with a bang!! All of the monsters, along with the spell bound damned have been released from the Glass Vault and is walking the earth with a mission to collect souls for Vale. They turn people to glass, killing them in the process as their souls are sucked into the power force of the vault.
In book two, Maisie, Perrie’s now immoral cousin snaps out of her trance early on, along with Frankenstein’s monster. They teem up, determined to find and save Perrie, as she did once for them. The danger, death and mayhem are literally around every turn. Meanwhile Perrie has been given the power of lightning, and while in her trance and spell she is in everyway the deadly machine of evil that Vale had intended for her to be. But, what Vale didn’t expect is for the intensity of humanity and love that’s engrained too deeply into Perrie’s being to be powerful enough to break free. Slowly, she regains her memories and takes any chance she can get at escape.
All together, the entire duology weaves together a tale of misfortune, torture and unexpected evil twists – all the while giving the reader all the feels for romance, hope, mercy and comradery! It has it all!! 5 stars for me, and that ending…. just WOW!!

DESCRIPTION:

The complete Wicked Souls Duology in one collection full of magic, danger, and sizzling romance. This NA box set includes Vault of Glass and Bride of Glass. Perfect for fans of Silvia Moreno-Garcia, Penny Dreadful, A.G. Howard, and Kerri Maniscalco.

“This is no ordinary, modern-day fairy tale. It’s much, much darker.”

A determined girl without answers. A hot guy who would do anything to help her. A mysterious museum that some see and some don’t…

Perrie Madeline lives a simple life. Her only concern is deciding whether or not to let herself fall for her sexy friend, August Hartley. That is, until a strange museum known as Quinsey Wolfe’s Glass Vault appears overnight and people around her begin to go missing.

Determined to uncover the Glass Vault’s hidden secrets, Perrie and August conspire to break inside. But soon, Perrie realizes she has more to worry about than her feelings for August—something sinister is on their heels. Together they must find their way out of the museum before they discover something truly not for the faint of heart.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s