Search

Didi Oviatt

Author of the Time Waster Series-Super Short Preludes, and suspense novels Aggravated Momentum, The Stix, and New Age Lamians… (blogger)

Tag

booktour

Dead Over Heels, by Theresa Braun #blogtour #bookreview #5stars

Dead Over Heels

Theresa Braun

Publication Date: Nov 16, 2016

Frith Books

Genre: Paranormal/ Paranormal Romance/ Short Story

My Review:

5 of 5 stars

A short review for a short book: Wow, this tiny little 38 page bomb really sets off a BANG! Don’t be fooled by the size, because this story has everything! It’s twisty, edgy, romantic, AND creepy. The main characters are overflowing with personality. From cover to cover this story is bursting at the seems. The plot points are well defined, the picture is drawn perfectly, and even with the refreshingly unpredictable shockers Braun is still able to tie it all together to produce a nice even flow.  I really have to give Theresa props, as it is SO hard to accomplish such qualities in such a short tale.

Veronica meets Sebastian on a dating site. After much previous disappointment in the struggle for finding love Sebastian is a breath of fresh air for Veronica. Their feelings take off quickly, as does the drama and hauntings of their past.  Their very first date provides an odd encounter with a couple who never actually existed. After a full month of dating they return to the haunted restaurant. I wont give anything else away. You have to read this book!!!

More Buy Links:

Barnes & Noble: HERE

Kobo: HERE

Synopsis:

Veronica’s first date with Sebastian not only stirs up a powerful attraction, but also a series of supernatural events that will tear them apart.

After countless hours of dead end online dating, Veronica meets up with Sebastian at a reportedly haunted restaurant, since he knows she has a fascination with the paranormal. While enjoying their meals and each other’s company, they share a shocking supernatural experience. Their romantic connection is overshadowed by the ghosts of their own pasts that threaten to destroy their budding relationship. Veronica decides she must return to the restaurant to face her past and dig up more answers. Unfortunately, she realizes she must go back, this time with a reluctant Sebastian. In the end, they join forces against the evil that stands between them, but will they make it out alive?

Add to Goodreads: HERE

*********************

Quotes:

“The problem is, I never knew that finding the one would be such a double-edged sword.”

 

“My brain started exercising like it had never done before. The Rubik’s Cube, the GRE, and my Master’s thesis on Jungian psychoanalysis all seemed like simple level capacity in comparison to the riddle at hand.”

 

“Bile rose in my throat, and I gripped Sebastian’s arm tightly. Had my dad really killed someone with his bare hands?”

 

“My breathing shallowed and I grew woozy. It was as if I was dying with her.”

 

“Now I knew the truth, but I couldn’t do a damn thing about it.”

 

“Suddenly I realized my feet hurt. Somehow I had managed to weather all of this while standing in my black patent leather heels. I kicked the up into my hands as if they had wronged me for the last time.”

 

“Last night had been spooky, and my breath had been taken away, but was it really magic? Maybe the vague intention of my candle ritual had come to fruition…after all, Sebastian had come into my life, and I knew now that my mom hadn’t abandoned me.”

 

“An echoing snarl became an animalistic roar, pinching e from my childhood memory. Once my eyes met the source of the sound, I saw my father barreling straight at us.”

 

“It was then that I screamed. The sound sliced through the night and my vocal cords felt as if they were shredding in my throat.”

***************************

About The Author:

author pic

Theresa Braun was born in St. Paul, Minnesota and has carried some of that hardiness with her to South Florida where she currently resides with her two fur babies, who are her creative sidekicks. She enjoys delving into creative writing, painting, photography and even bouts of ghost hunting. Traveling is one of her passions—in fact, her latest adventure took her to Romania for a horror writers’ workshop where she followed in the steps of Vlad the Impaler. She writes horror fiction and the occasional romance. She blogs about writing, television shows, movies, and books, and all things dark. Her short stories are published in Under the Bed Magazine, in Hindered Souls, in The Horror Zine, in Schlock! Webzine, and by Frith Books. Upcoming stories to appear in Monsters Exist and Hardened Hearts.

Author Links:

https://twitter.com/tbraun_author

https://www.facebook.com/GroomAndDoom/

https://www.theresabraun.com/

 
Giveaway: Digital Copy of Dead Over Heels in Format of Choice
a Rafflecopter giveaway

**************************

Blog Tour Schedule

image1.jpg
~June 5~
Reads & Reels www.readsandreels.com (Promo)
Tranquil Dreams www.klling.wordpress.com (Review)
Beware of the Reader www.bewareofthereader.com (Review)
~June 6~
The Bookworm Chronicles www.muretbookworm.wordpress.com (Excerpt)
Didi Oviatt www.didioviatt.wordpress.com (Review)
~June 7~

Nesie’s Place https://nesiesplace.wordpress.com/  (Review & Excerpt)

~June 8~
Between the Lines Book Blog www.betweenthelinesbookblog.com (Review)
~June 9~
Where Dragons Reside www.kernerangelina.live (Review)

image2

Advertisements

Book Blitz: When Smoke Rains Down by Cecelia Earl

Kingdom Come #2

Release Date: May 31, 2017

Genre: Young Adult/ Paranormal/ Fantasy

When Smoke Rains Down Cover

Blurb:

In the aftermath of an explosion and Homecoming battle, Julia tries to form some semblance of a routine: work, study, visit her brother. Unable to confide in anyone about her double life of being both human and angel, and fearful she’ll bring death and destruction to those she loves, she pulls away from her family and best friend.

When demons once again start to show up at every turn, seemingly bringing about her brother’s deepening depression, she demands her sword from Nicholas. Ever the stern Guardian Angel, he forbids her from using it. Isolated, she takes protecting her brother into her own hands.

Thrust into a dark world of conspiring demons, Julia is in more danger than she ever imagined possible. To stop evil from spreading and overtaking those she loves, she’ll have to seek out the one person she mistrusts most.

Enter a complex world where humans, demons, and angels collide, all battling to rule the Earth. For readers who enjoy young adult paranormal romance and dark fantasy. Fans of City of Bones, Hush Hush, Unearthly, Halo, and Hidden Wings will be captivated by this unique take on angels and demons.

When Smoke Rains Down is Book Two in the Kingdom Come series. Book Three, the final installment, will be out Summer 2017.

untitled.png

Author Bio:

Cecelia Earl graduated with a degree in education and has been teaching ever since. She’s a wife, a mom of three boys, and an owner of a magical laundry pile that never stops growing. She lives near enough to Green Bay, WI that her refrigerator is always stocked with cheese, and the first colors her children learned were green and gold. She’s a teacher by day, a mom always, and a writer in her sleep, but that’s okay because being an author is a dream come true. She writes angel books for young and youngish adults. If you feel young, she writes for you—whether or not you feel particularly angelic.

Goodreads: When Smoke Rains Down

Author Links:

Goodreads

Facebook

Website

Twitter, Instagram, Pinterest, Tumblr: @authorcecelia

Amazon

Author Newsletter

Purchase links:

When Ash Rains Down

When Smoke Rains Down

Rafflecopter Giveaway:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Link: http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/0e7c6a8f5/?

 

 

 

Continue reading “Book Blitz: When Smoke Rains Down by Cecelia Earl”

Blog Tour Review Stop: Before The Tempest, by Tani Hanes. (my rate 4 of 5 stars) #blogtour #review #giveaway

Before the Tempest (UK Crush Series Book #4)

Tani Hanes

Publication Date: March 21, 2017

Genre: New Adult Romance/ Contemporary Romance

Synopsis:

Aileen Foster, poor, orphaned, musically gifted, never imagined her life could change so much, so fast, but getting a job as interpreter for boyband UK Crush pitched her headfirst into tumult and a glamorous life she never thought she’d have. Now, engaged to band member Theo Shelley, and having survived her audition to Hamilton Conservatory in Manhattan, she’s off to the Bahamas with the boys while they write their new album. Life has never been easy for her, but she’s trying.

******************

MY REVIEW:

4 of 5 stars!!

Three books in and I’m yet to be disappointed! Before the Tempest is an absolutely indispensable portion of the UK Crush tale. Moving along with the romance of Tink and Teddy is emotionally enchanting. Now engaged, and after winning a very prestige classical music scholarship, Aileen faces a whole new set of obstacles in life.

I love all the drama in this one!! In my opinion it’s neck and neck with book one, and is much better than 2 and 3. It’s rare to be able to keep the story flowing and to create such a bang three books in!! Tani executed quite the whirlwind of admiration, love, and obsession. She is able to mix up the couple’s bedroom escapades in a way that keeps you as the reader wanting more. It’s far from droll, to put it lightly! *drools*

My hat is also off to Tani with this one in terms of intense scenes of jealousy, sabotage, and rage. The fans of our favorite group of gorgeous boy/men are at an all time high in erratic action – As is the craziness of past relationships(ish)… Pushing the limits with ups and downs in a relationship, especially such a high profile relationship, is really a strong point for Tani in Before the Tempest!

Another aspect that I love about this book is the music standpoint. The entire series IS after all written around musicians. Up until this point the main focus (in terms of tunes) has been all behind the scenes with an occasional explanation of concerts and piano practice/performance. I found it very fulfilling to learn more about the back end of the music process. Especially since the band decides to make some changes.

I loved Before the Tempest, and I can’t wait to read the next book in this series!

About the Author:

Tani Hanes was born in Yokosuka, Japan. She spent the first few years of her life traveling back and forth between Japan and the US, making the permanent move to the Central Valley of California when she was five. She visited family in Japan on a regular basis, and attended college in Tokyo for one year at ICU before getting her degree in Language Studies from UC Santa Cruz. She has two children, and was a substitute teacher for fifteen years. Hanes currently resides in New York City with her husband and cats, Moss and Lily.

Make sure to visit and follow Tani!!  Here are her Author Links:

Facebook: HERE
Website: HERE
Twitter: HERE
Amazon: Author Page
Goodreads: HERE
Pinterest: HERE

Swoonreads: https://www.swoonreads.com/a/tani-hanes/6QA49L/

*******************

I’m so glad I decided to read this series!  It isn’t my usual genre, so I was honestly a little bit leery going in.. I’m happy to say that I’M SO GLAD I DID FINALLY READ THESE BOOKS!!  You can find my reviews for all three previous books here:

Review: Living in the Shallows (UK Crush #1), by Tani Hanes 4 of 5 stars

Review: Diving Deep (UK Crush #2)

Review: Learning to Fly (UK Crush #3), by Tani Hanes

*******************

And, now for the..

Giveaway:

5 digital sets of the UK Crush series and 1 complete print set of the UK Crush series, signed by author

Link: http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/0e7c6a8f6/

******************

Last but not least, don’t forget to PRE-ORDER book #5!!

AMAZON ORDER LINK: HERE

51Hxhe0WgZL__AC_US218_.jpg

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑