LOVE this word comparison chart!!

Today is a day for revisiting the madness of the English language. We have all had moments when our minds blank and we can’t figure out what word we should use. “Affect or effect?” We wonder to ourselves. “Affect is usually a verb, right?” Luckily the fine folks at GrammarCheck have a bright and bubbly […]

via Words and Common Confusions — Kristen Twardowski

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Suchitra says:

    Even though mistakes to happen, I am a grammar nerd and enjoy writing or at least trying to write English the “right” way. I labor over little grammatical nuances and after several attempts and Googling, if it reads well and looks right, I go with the structure. This image is a good quick reference.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Didi Oviatt says:

      I suck at grammar! Lol my editor is a saint 😂😂. One time she noted in a manuscript “not only does this sentence hurt my soul, but….”haha I should probably put a framed copy of this on my desk. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Suchitra says:

        Haha…Love that line and also see the passion your editor feels for her/his work.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Didi Oviatt says:

        Yes! She is amazing. I love her 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Suchitra says:

    Haha…Mistakes do happen.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yes absolutely agree wholeheartedly with your words Didi, grammar is somewhat funny at times.👍👍👍👍👍👍

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Felicia Denise says:

    I’m always battling with Grammarly over ‘alright’ and ‘all right’! 😃

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Didi Oviatt says:

      Me too!! That one’s one of my worst 🤔

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment