April WIP Writing Challenge: ‘Road Trip’

Spring has sprung! There’s something about this time of year that just shouts road trip!!  Maybe it’s because (most) everyone has been so cooped up over the winter, so as soon as the sun begins to shine we just want to GO! Somewhere, anywhere, aside from our couches. So for April’s writing challenge, I’m going to run with a ‘ROAD TRIP’  as a scene/short story challenge to plug the characters from your WIP (work in progress) into. It’s meant to be a fun way to introduce your characters, so take them somewhere wonky, and give them (as well as your readers) a trip to remember!

hiker-1607078__340

HOW IT WORKS

As the initiator: Every month I’ll give a real time circumstance, hang out spot, or every day situation. I’ll post the exact scene/challenge the first week of every month.

As an Author/challenge joiner: All you need to do is use the characters from your WIP (work in progress), or even a published works, and plug them into the given scene for a short story style post. It can be funny, serious, deadly, really just whatever you want as long as it’s true to your characters (as in, what they would actually do in this situation)!! It’s a fun way to be creative with those personalities that you as their creator love so much. It’s also a fun way to introduce them to the world and your blogs, without giving away your plots and twists… Just pure ‘meet my characters, and get to know their personalities’ separate from their book.

How we work together as Authors and the Initiator:  I’ll do my own scene/challenge post on the very last day of the month (that way I can be sure to link in every joiner, and you can do your posts at your own leisure). Write your scene’s anytime you wish, at any point of the month. All that I need is your final challenge post link. You can give it to me in any comment, or even link me into your post so that it’ll pop in my news feeds! So simple!

(If you do just link me in to your own posts, then make sure you use a regular blog post to link me in with, rather than my blog’s home page, that won’t actually give me a notification. I don’t want to skip anyone over! This particular post is ideal, but do your own thing.)

CHECK OUT THE SCENES WRITTEN FOR PREVIOUS MONTHS (outside participants are linked in):

Sept. Challenge WIP Characters at the Poker Table #shortstory

“Bump in the night” WIP Character Scene Challenge, Oct.

WIP Writing Challenge NOV. “An Awhaw Moment Amidst Chaos.” #thrillerscene

“Snow Storm” Dec. WIP Writing challenge, Final Product.

Jan WIP Writing Challenge!! “Celebration Party”(sorry it’s SO late)

“Out to Sea” WIP character scene, Feb writing challenge.

March WIP ‘Moonlit Romance’ Writing Challenge! #KDSuspense

 

HAVE A NICE ROAD TRIP WRITERS!!  I LOOK FORWARD TO READING AND LINKING IN YOUR SCENES!!!

20 Comments Add yours

  1. kristianw84 says:

    Ohhh!!!! I love this idea!!!!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I thought so too! I’m excited to write a trip!! 😃

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m totally going to do this one. I have two characters who are so antagonistic to each other, I’ve been wanting to throw them into a car together and see what happens, but I never could find an in-story reason for it to happen.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Two antagonists?! This could get interesting! 🤨🤩

      Liked by 1 person

  3. On a completely unrelated note, I nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award. It’s up to you if you want to do it or not. If you do, here is the link: https://ambroseandelsie.wordpress.com/2019/04/07/versatile-blogger-award-woo/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you!! Its been a while since I did an award. Thank you so much!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You’re very welcome! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      1. cosistories says:

        Thank you so much! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  4. yukunerk says:

    I will be late posting my april challemge as i am on vacation! Sorry!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh no worries! I love that you’ll still be writing one, even though you’ve been away, that’s amazing. I hope you’re have a safe and fun vacation! XOXO

      Liked by 1 person

      1. yukunerk says:

        Finally home and the first thing I do is edit and post! Haha Hope you enjoy! yukunerkblog.com/2019/05/06/road-trip-alex-and-arya/

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Awesome!! I’ll link u in now, and jump over to read 🤩🤩 .. hope your vacation was a success 😁

        Liked by 1 person

      3. yukunerk says:

        It was splendid! And the weather was great! I loved travelling around kyushu Japan!

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Sounds amazing!! 😀🤩

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Laura Beth says:

    I’m posting mine tomorrow!! And it’s new characters for you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. oooohhhhh new characters!!! I can’t wait to meet them! I’ll be doing my link in post a little late (probably Wed.) So no hurry, my friend! I’m so excited to read it! 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment